Hub Bub in the Tub

I am celebrating the wonderful news of my last ultrasound with a little meditation on home birth. (There’s nothing too graphic here, but it is a birth…)

My sister-in-law, Libby, an amazing photographer (and incredible impromptu doula), took these beautiful photographs (I just can’t use enough superlatives here), and her girlfriend Anna put them together in this slide show for us. And if the slide show wasn’t enough, Anna also wrote this little Dr. Suess-ish poem in response to Libby’s description to her of the birth. Together, they tell the story of Scout’s birth so eloquently.

Hub Bub in the Tub

It was a quiet day. Well, no….not much.
There was a birthing tub and quite a fuss.
One second sleeping, the next second pushing,
with Lewis’ splashing and Lewis’ shushing.
They were hither and thither and splashing and groaning.
The hub bub was such – it was oh, such a morning.

For the littlest Lewis’ was well on the way
And had chosen today-today as the day.
She gave a good sign that she’d like to come out
Then she decided she might have some doubt
So they walked, then they coaxed, then they sat in the tub
Till the littlest Lewis liked the hub bub.
So she joined in the ruckus, came ramblin’ out
The newest, this Lewis – the one they called Scout.

I’m incredibly blessed to have such amazing women in my life. Thank you to all of the amazing women who were at Scout’s birth, Mara, Cara, Karen, and Libby. You inspire me and nourish me and (most importantly) you make me laugh.

~ by jenzai on May 9, 2008.

4 Responses to “Hub Bub in the Tub”

  1. Beautiful.. beautiful…

  2. I’m speechless. Thank you for sharing such beauty with us.

  3. I just watched the slide show and can hardly see to type, my eyes are so misted over . The love between you and Patrick is so awwesome, and Libby caught it beautifully. The look of love on the sisters as they gaze at Scout is up-lifting. Obviously this is a loving family! I thank God you are mine! Yiayia

  4. I am “touched, moved and inspired” beyond words. What an amazing experience captured for eternity. I am in awe as I wait to hear about your next little girl who is on her way into our world as I write!!!

Leave a Reply

 
