Beauty

I found myself crying in the parking lot of Whole Foods today. There was something about the light, the unexpectedly cool breeze that was blowing and the familiar motion of reaching down into the warm coziness of the sling and lifting out a tiny newborn. I was overwhelmed with gratitude and the exquisite beauty of the amazing little soul that was cradled in my arms. Being postpartum is also like this. An almost unbearable ache in your breast at the loveliness of new life and the terribly fast speed with which it all seems to be rushing by. And then, in the quiet and stillness of the night, when everyone else is asleep and in bed and I am gazing into those little pools of wonder that are my baby girl’s eyes, time stands still and she and I are the only people in the universe.

~ by jenzai on September 15, 2008.

3 Responses to “Beauty”

  1. Gorgeously put. Funny how the ache echoes. Thanks for finding these words for your experience. Love you.

  2. Ah, you put it in such a way that you let me feel-remember the same thing. My most cherished memories are ones like those.

  3. Beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

 
