Delivering the goods

truffles3 truffles21

Maybe someday I’ll have a minute or two to sit down and reflect on the experience of baking and truffle-making this year. I wish it was as simple as the nine little boxes you see pictured here, but of course it isn’t. I mean, if you’re giving people treats, how do you possibly narrow down the list of recipients to something manageable? My list just kept growing and growing. I kept making “one more trip” to the grocery store for ingredients, and staying up until 2 am folding boxes and rolling truffles. And then what about our friends with lots of kids who need more than a little box of truffles? That’s when the gift boxes I bought last year on clearance came in handy, though that created a whole new set of problems, like, who gets the home made boxes and who gets the bigger boxes that hold more goodies? What should I put in the bigger boxes, and now that my refrigerator is overflowing, how in the heck do I get all of it delivered before the goodies aren’t so good anymore? And prepare for our trip to South Dakota? and finish Christmas shopping, and make all of my handmade presents for family members, and get to the post office on time…? (oh, and feed my children and attend all their holiday parties and not let our house become an unruly pit.) Truly I love the season, but I do have a habit of biting off more than I can chew.

~ by jenzai on December 17, 2008.

8 Responses to “Delivering the goods”

  1. You forgot the best thing you have to ‘do’ — be Mary in Las Posadas. They asked me to be in it. Shepherd of Magi. I said I’d do it if I could be Balthazar (and I can wear a cape.)

    Kidding aside, we are one grateful family for your X-Mas goodies. They have been enjoyed, repeatedly, and it doesn’t even matter that they came in a clearance sale box.

    That’s a joke Jenny.

    The thought is what counts and the fact that you took the time to make us something so nice and good is very special and what X-Mas is all about (to me at least.)

    Thank you.

  2. Speaking as someone who is currently choking on the amount she has bitten off – I understand! Chew, chew, chew – and onward toward Christmas!

  3. GOOD GOD WOMAN YOU ARE ASTOUNDING. And those look, well, heavenly. Please pray for us sinners now, and at the hour of our deaths.

  4. Boy, this post didn’t come out at all like I intended. My goal was to illustrate how I can occasionally be just the slightest bit obsessive, if by “slightest bit” you understand me to mean ridiculously so. I don’t know how I got into the list of things I’m trying to accomplish, nor how I could publicly take credit for feeding our children when that job routinely falls on Patrick’s shoulders, but lets hope it wasn’t the latent martyr in me rearing her ugly head. We’ll be generous and chalk it up to the late hour at which this post was written.

    If you’re reading this Stuart, I’m so glad you guys enjoyed the goodies. This really is one of my most favorite Christmas traditions. And by the way, for the few of you who received cookies and truffles, those delicious macaroons were Patrick’s contribution.

  5. Oooh, that blue *does* look gorgeous!

  6. OMG, am I lucky or what? I had one of each last night and was in heaven. Nice job jenzai. Thank you so much for letting us make the cut 😉

  7. Oh, I think there has been a horrible mistake! Horrible, I say! There are no truffles in my box. But really — that’s OK. Just send another box and I won’t be offended.

  8. Ah – so nice to have a kindred spirit in the holiday ruminations to be all that we can be. And by that, I, of course, mean be even greater than Martha, Betty and Norman combined exponentially. What happens to me usually is that I give up at some point and end up sending a quick e-card at the last minute. Or less – simply posting it on my FaceBook page…;o)

Leave a Reply

 
