‘Bamacake

What a day. We had our own little inaugural party here at the Lewis house, and what better way to celebrate than with a chocolate cake made from scratch?

bamacake

We camped in front of the TV all morning, watching the pre-game and allowing the excitement to build. As the big moment came closer, Scout, who had been entertaining herself with stuffed animals and baby dolls and not paying any attention to the television at all, suddenly climbed up into my lap almost as if on cue. It was right as the crowd had started chanting “O-ba-ma!” but, as you recall, the chant never really took hold. Perhaps, even in the electric anticipation of the moment, the crowd felt the solemnness of the occasion? At any rate, it was rather hard to pick up on and so I was surprised when, a few moments later, I realized that Scout was rocking back and forth in my lap singing “Rock the Ba-ma! Rock the Ba-ma!”

~ by jenzai on January 20, 2009.

7 Responses to “‘Bamacake”

  1. Mmmmmmmn! That’s good ‘Bama

  2. Can I tell you how good that cake looks? Love how much Scout picks up on, wish I were there celebrating with you.

  3. Well, it looks better than this one for sure: http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default

    Yummy cake! I wish I’d thought to commemorate the very commemorate-able day. 🙂

  4. Oops…. Try this: http://tinyurl.com/7d9m5x

    And then these for some others, too. 🙂 http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/2009/01/presidential-sweet.html

  5. Hi Jenny…u r entered in my book giveaway…couldn’t find any other way to contact u so hope this is ok. I have only a few of these books left and they are no longer in print so if u don’t win the giveaway u can always contact me. I’ll sell the few remaining for 20.00 plus 5.00 for shipping ( in the U S ). Good Luck!
    davehuddleston.blogspot.com

  6. Wow! That looks luscious!!

  7. HI you found me out…my painting is from “the mirror” I usually put the source photo with it…smile ;>} it came out nice…I didn’t really want to do it I don’t like geometric shapes but I really like this after all!

Leave a Reply

 
