More process

I finally joined another swap. It’s been over a year since I participated in one, and this one was irresistible. We’re all making winged charms with text, a la Deryn Mentock. I had started playing around with this technique right before the swap came up, so it seemed like providence. I’m not entirely happy with them yet, but I’m getting there. The proportions seem a little off to me. I got these beautiful amazonite stones in the mail today, along with some yellow turquoise that I can’t wait to use.

fairywings

I’ve also been having lots of fun figuring out how to make some fairly basic stuff with the sterling silver wire – twisted jump rings and such. I’ve started a necklace and a bracelet now that are both sitting unfinished. Almost all of these techniques require hammering and my very limited baby free time usually comes when she is sleeping, so progress is rather slow. It doesn’t help that I don’t have a finished product in mind! Process, right? These simple little sterling rings make me so darn happy, though.

rings

~ by jenzai on April 6, 2009.

4 Responses to “More process”

  1. Not quite satisfied, eh? That’s odd, because at least the charm you photographed is simply gorgeous. It’s insectoid without being the slightest bit icky. (At least, that’s my interpretation, make of it what you will.) The pics on here make me think of Patrick talking about visiting a huge, famous art museum (I forget which one) and getting art cloyed: “After a while you’re just like ‘Ah. Another masterpiece.'” (I’m afraid you’ll have to imagine his inflection–or ask him to repeat the phrase for you–it’s only been, what nine, ten years? I’m sure he remembers just how he said it.

    Anyway, I say of your new creation: Ah. Another masterpiece. You make creating unique, beautiful little things seem so commonplace …

  2. Another lovely pretty! Are these the ones you’re going to submit for CPS Swap — meaning overnighting tomorrow??? Hmmm? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. But it’s a total rip off! See?

  4. OK, I am just *now* catching up….. Since when did Deryn Whats-‘her-face invent wings?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
